The Bandsaw and I

Last weekend, the spouse had emergency gall bladder removal surgery, pretty nasty, but hey, we got there in time. While recovering, he walked me through changing the broken 1/8″ broken blade for a 1/2″  unbroken blade so now I’m back at it: making large pieces of wood into small pieces of wood.

I am a human beaver.Anyway, here’s a few things I’ve been putting together for drop spindle whorls. Everything from mahogany from broken furniture to maple from the neighbor’s tree that had to come down during COVID-19. I’m trying to use mainly upcycled and locally produced wood. I even have some Black locust/Honey locust/peach wood in there. Yay me, my love of flat geometric patterns rides again.

I should have gone into designing floor tiles instead of wasting my time trying to get into Hallmark as a greeting card designer. Anyway, this is probably another manifestation of my potential undiagnosed autism. Just don’t expect me to drop all these itty bitty pieces and know how many of them there are before they hit the ground. Thanks, Rainman!

Granted most of these will be no bigger than say, the bottom of a beer can or a credit card, but not everybody has room in their house for Monet. I, however, am a little more in most people’s budgetary range.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Bandsaw and I”

Leave a comment